Meal planning.

I have been making an effort lately to plan meals. It helps us eat healthier (less chance of grabbing take out because I just can’t come up with an idea) and saves money because I can plan to use fresh ingredients before they go bad. Typically my husband did the grocery shopping and I would make up meals from whatever he happened to come home with. Fun, but not very practical. Now I make a list and we have joined one of the big warehouse stores, so we split the shopping duties.

I may start posting our weekly meals just to hold myself accountable. We don’t really eat from a box or can, so most everything I cook is from scratch. We also bought 1/4 of a cow last fall, so there is more red meat on the menu lately since we have it in the deep freeze. OH – and we own a rice cooker. Best purchase ever!

Here is our menu this week…

Sunday lunch: Grilled steak, veggies (zucchini, yellow squash, carrots) in foil on the grill, rice.
Sunday dinner: Homemade chicken fingers, oven fries. (Our oven fries are just diced potatoes mixed with olive oil and fresh rosemary and baked in the oven.)
Monday: Lasagna, bread, salad.
Tuesday: husband was working late, we had leftovers.
Wednesday: Impromptu date night, kids ate pizza. (Oops!)
Thursday: Potato soup, sausage patties, biscuits.
Friday: Grilled balsamic marinated chicken, basmati rice, spinach feta salad with homemade balsamic vinaigrette.
Saturday lunch: Taco salad.
Saturday dinner: Pioneer Woman’s corn chowder.

I would love to cook in large batches and freeze extra meals, but I just haven’t gotten the hang of that yet.

Leave a Reply

