Underfoot.

I have had a busy week. My children tend to follow me everywhere. At some point yesterday in a flurry of need-to-get-things-done, I felt like I couldn’t even walk through my house without tripping over a tiny human.

I literally ran into Grace while doing laundry, and looked down and said, exasperated, “Can you please just go sit on the couch? I am tired of not being able to walk.”

She looked up at me with those wide blue eyes and a quivering lip and said, “But I just like being where you are.”

Oh. My heart.

I scooped her up in a hug and my eyes turned as watery as hers.

She just wants to be where I am.

With me. 

One day, far too soon, I won’t be tripping over these sweet children who just want to do what I do, be where I am. One day they won’t want anything to do with me. One day I will wish I was tripping over their sweet little selves.

Today I am thankful I have children underfoot. So thankful.

Leave a Reply

