Starting again.

I used to blog.

It was raw. It was honest, painful, real and ugly. I unleashed onto the interwebs all of the heartache and (sometimes) joy that comes with infertility and adopting children who have issues that love alone cannot heal. I said too much, and not enough.

It was cheaper than therapy.

Through that struggle, I found a community. I developed a few very real friendships. And I had a support system when I couldn’t stand on my own two feet, even from readers who didn’t fully understand what I was going through.

I stopped blogging for two specific reasons, which are really the same general reason: it was not as private as I had believed. I tried changing addresses and using passwords, but I lost the community that made blogging worthwhile in the first place. So I stopped.

This blog will not be picking up where I left off. I am not that person anymore. Infertility does not define who I am and my days aren’t dictated by whatever tantrum my RAD child may throw my way. My home is chaos, but it is peaceful. I am content. I am joyful. I might even dare to say… I am happy.

And now I’m starting on a new journey: homeschooling. I have found so many helpful blogs in planning for next year, so I’m putting this out there in case something I do is a good idea. I’m also going to use it as an accountability tool, and to document what we do so I have a detailed, visual reference other than my Excel spreadsheet planner and my brain.

I’m sure I will also write about the boring day-to-day, even though there’s really never a dull moment around here. We practice attachment parenting, although I didn’t realize there was a name for it when I started. I prefer to think of it as instinctual parenting. I have become very intentional in how I raise my daughters, and I’m sure I will share that here.

I’m hoping to keep this somewhat private, so I will be using my girls’ middle names – Grace and Joy. That’s where the name of this blog comes from, but I too am hoping to grow in God’s grace and joy on this journey.

Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

One thought on “Starting again.

Leave a Reply

